Write that Thank You

When is the last time you actually sat down to write a thank you? Better yet, do you even own thank you cards? Do you own a nice pen to write notes? Do you?

I don’t stop to think about this, writing a thank you card or writing a note card. It has become a lifelong habit since I was a child (thank you, Mama). However, the more I give this waning art some thought, the more I realize we are using email, Twitter, Facebook and texting to take place of a personal touch.

When I was 18 years old, I worked for the phone company in Southern California. Sure our department received complaints, but when a commendation came in we all celebrated for that operator. The praise went a long way for that employee and for our entire building.

From then on, whenever I speak with any person helping me in any way whatsoever, I ask for their supervisor to commend them for a job well done. Have you ever taken the time to do that yourself?

I just wrote a commendation letter to Chief Michael Masterson of the Boise Police Department. I was in a position to witness an incident last weekend in which the officers that responded to the call deserved to be thanked. They showed patience, compassion, caring and true professionalism. As I told the story of what I had seen take place, I have heard similar stories, all with a positive outcome.

My suggestion is this: when something remarkable and outstanding happens to you, write a thank you. Tell your story of what touched you in your heart. I think we could all use some positive news, don’t you agree?

One thought on “Write that Thank You

Add yours

  1. Great post and very interesting information! Wish you the best of luck and looking forword to checking your blog more often. I’ve subscribed to your site so hopefully you will continue to add some future content!

    All the best,

    Dino Vedo

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

