It’s Not About Me, It’s Not About You, It Is About US

This past year, while I was in the midst of grief, at times it felt as if I was on the outside looking in more often than not. You know, those times watching events as if you were not in the room, people talking about dealing with what you would consider totally mundane but oh so important to them. Or being in a situation where their joy was your pain, but your pain was truly your choice because did not choose to be more positive. Hard to admit, but true all the same.let it be

I have been outside for a time and looking in has pushed me to learn in a deeper way. I no longer “see” but “hear” life differently. I listen better and yet still not enough. Listening is a true art. You have to close your laptop, put your phone away, sit in a position to hear better, and even keep eye contact to make sure you are giving it your all. I know when I am listening better, that I am giving better. In the moment.

That moment. In Buddhism it is called the present moment.

Which brings me to my point. It is not about me, and it is not about you. These days, it should be about “us”. When are we going to stop pushing and pulling and just figure out how to meet in the middle? What happened to collaborating? I want to know why the discourse has become so hateful. I want to know why we don’t trust each other any longer. I want to know why hatred and fear has taken over our lives instead of helping and healing. Big questions.

Why can’t “we” be “us” again?

For Christmas, for the holidays, all I want is to experience people talking, not arguing. All I want is for people to listen to each other and not to assume the worst when you do not have all the facts. I just want solutions instead of battles.

All I want is peace.

#listen #peace #bereal #solution #lifelesson

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

