What’s In It For Me? A Foodie’s Confession About Pinterest

I used to be a Pinterest Foodie addict. Pinning late at night, pinning early in the morning. The daytime hours had to be for career activities, but the Pinterest button on my add-ons bar beckoned me mercilessly.

Thousands of pins later, I am so over that now.

I am much for selective and spend less time. Why? I am literally “pinned out”. How did I come to this conclusion? Pinterest notified me that I pinned that pin before. Busted.

All kidding aside, Pinterest is the best of the best places to save the awesome things you find on the internet. For me, it is mostly recipes, home décor to share with my real estate clients, travel bucket list places and inspirational quotes.

When it comes to cooking and recipes, I save ideas to play with the recipes. I like those ingredients, but what can I do to make it different or better or healthier? Never a dilemma but always a challenge.

Salad Prep
Salad Prep

Lately, I have been on a cabbage craze. The search was on for a dressing recipe. I tried my cabbage salad with my lemon tahini dressing. Yum. But I wanted a lighter dressing. You know what? Keeping it simple, I found that just rice vinegar and red pepper flakes worked the best.

 

Summer Cabbage Salad

1 large head green cabbage, or mix varieties to suit your taste

4 green onions, sliced

Rice vinegar

Red pepper flakes to taste

Roasted pumpkin seeds, unsalted

Cut cabbage in half, core the stem and cut in half again. Slice thinly and toss in a large bowl. Add the green onions, and pour rice vinegar, keeping in mind you don’t want to soak the greens. At this point, you can add or skip the red pepper flakes. Top with roasted pumpkin seeds.

Now, change this up and add other ingredients that you may have on hand! Julienned carrots, chopped cilantro, sliced water chestnuts, pea pods, matchstick red bell pepper. You get the picture now, right? Or just take a look at mine!

cabbage salad

#foodie #recipe #summersalad

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

