Lemon Herb Chicken Tenders

Chicken Fingers for Grown Ups!

I had a package of chicken breast tenderloins, and looked for a different way to cook them last night. I did not want to sauté or fry; that seemed as if it was too much work for my end of the day “I am tired”. So, that meant baking.

My favorite ingredients are anything citrus, so a lemon quickly came in to the picture. My garden sage has already come back, I clipped a small branch that produced about 2 tablespoons. I love cheese, so the asiago came out of the fridge. The rest is historic delicious.

Ingredients

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken tenders
1 cup panko bread crumbs
¼ cup finely shredded asiago cheese
Juice & zest of 1 lemon
1 tblsp fresh sage, minced
Kosher or sea salt
Fresh ground black pepper
2 large eggs, beaten

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°, line a baking sheet with foil. Spray with canola.

Make sure your tenders are no wider than 2-3 inches. Wash from packaging.

In shallow dish, such as a pie dish, combine the panko, cheese, lemon, sage, salt & pepper. I beat the eggs in a glass 4 cup measuring container and added all the chicken in the eggs. Pull out each chicken piece and make sure it is coated well. Then dip that piece in the panko mixture. Press lightly to make sure your chicken is thoroughly coated. Place strips on baking sheet.

Bake until golden, 10 to 15 minutes. This all depends on how hot your oven is. Mine bakes hot, but it still took some time to get that gorgeous golden brown. If you feel your chicken is done sooner, heat the broiler to brown faster.

For a dipping sauce, I served my tenders with Cardini’s Caesar dressing, my personal favorite. Dijon works. Marinara sauce works. A fresh tomato bruschetta would be divine!

NOTE: any fresh garden herb works: oregano, rhyme, rosemary!

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

